The plot twist of burned by Karen Marie Moning

burned by karen marie moning

Title: Burned #7
Series : Fever Series
Author: Karen Marie Moning
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Pages: 475 paperback
Release : January 20th 2015
Genre: Fantasy | Paranormal | Urban-fantasy


It’s easy to walk away from lies. Power is another thing.

MacKayla Lane would do anything to save the home she loves. A gifted sidhe-seer, she’s already fought and defeated the deadly Sinsar Dubh—an ancient book of terrible evil—yet its hold on her has never been stronger.

When the wall that protected humans from the seductive, insatiable Fae was destroyed on Halloween, long-imprisoned immortals ravaged the planet. Now Dublin is a war zone with factions battling for control. As the city heats up and the ice left by the Hoar Frost King melts, tempers flare, passions run red-hot, and dangerous lines get crossed.

Seelie and Unseelie vie for power against nine ancient immortals who have governed Dublin for millennia; a rival band of sidhe-seers invades the city, determined to claim it for their own; Mac’s former protégé and best friend, Dani “Mega” O’Malley, is now her fierce enemy; and even more urgent, Highland druid Christian MacKeltar has been captured by the Crimson Hag and is being driven deeper into Unseelie madness with each passing day. The only one Mac can depend on is the powerful, dangerous immortal Jericho Barrons, but even their fiery bond is tested by betrayal.

It’s a world where staying alive is a constant struggle, the line between good and evil gets blurred, and every alliance comes at a price. In an epic battle against dark forces, Mac must decide who she can trust, and what her survival is ultimately worth.

This is not going to be a regular review but more of a talk about the book #7 Burned in Fever series by Karen Marie Moning. Let’s go back to #6 book ‘Iced‘ first, it was released in 2012 and the readers were grossed out by the possible insinuated chemistry of Dani a fierce lively Fourteen-year-old girl and millennia-old-dashing-immortal Ryoden which probably made Karen Marie Moning (the author) change her plot for the next book and she pushed the publication date and Burned was released two years after Iced. (It’s my first fiction/fantasy/novel of this year)

Frankly when I picked it up I was expecting it to be another let-down because of Iced #6 and seeing so many one star reviews and while reading I kept waiting for that ‘disappointing’ moment that would put me off and I didn’t find any in particular. I liked the book! Really I did! I get it, this book was supposed to be about Dani not Mac and Barrons, Mac is that infuriating character that gets under my skin, makes me want to bang my head against the wall because of her stubbornness and silliness and I love that part! She just grabs my complete senses and makes me laugh even in the grave situation where I want to punch someone literally and reading Dani’s POV was always enthralling and fun. And I love Dani! Out of them all ( a whole load of characters are there) I love Dani the best! I missed her in this book but somehow it was compensated by everything that was going on so you getting what I am trying to say here? The conflicts, this book is full of it and it makes it gripping and takes you to the edge, it is a complete twist of the plot, totally unexpected things happening around.

I am glad Moning did move ahead of Mac and Barrons story and introduced many new side stories like of Lor’s and Jo, Kat’s and of course a little in-depth of the Fae-human-wired world they are currently in. I missed Christian though and don’t get me started on how heartbroken I was with the situation on Dani. I love that kid, I miss her (Have I mentioned it before? ) and I want to know if she is okay. Hopefully Moning will see to it in the next installment.

What I really loved about this installment was the knowing the pagan-gold of the dark immortal nine, the mysterious deadly emotionless Ryoden! Is he really that cold, Aha! He isn’t and I was never that intrigued by him before but the depth of his character took me by surprise. Now I want to know his story more! I wanted his perspective but we all know since we haven’t got Barron’s perspective so there is no way in Dublin we will get Ryoden’s. It’s so unfair but that’s what life is.

This time Moaning have really delivered a rollercoaster of emotions served over stunning platter. The story was spell binding with flawless narration and mind-blowing plot twist that fixed every problem of Iced. You know guys, sometimes an unexpected plot twist is important to drill our brains out and drag us to the place where story is happening and I really found myself in the deliriously eccentric supernatural Dublin. This book was a real disaster control and I liked it. Now I cannot wait for Feverborn #7 (Damn).

“What no one tells you is that when someone you love dies, you lose them twice. Once to death, the second time to acceptance, and you don’t walk that long, dark passage between the two alone. Grief takes every shuffling, unwilling step with you, offering a seductive bouquet of memories that can only blossom south of sanity. You can stay there, nose buried in the petals of the past. But you’re never really alive again.”
Karen Marie Moning, Burned

moning burned

If you love fantasy series then this will prove fantastic!!

Happy Reading people! 🙂 🙂 🙂

3 thoughts on “The plot twist of burned by Karen Marie Moning

Leave a comment