TIME — An Acrostic poem

Time flies, and time goes,
I
n every single blink.
M
ysteriously upon you it bestows,
E
merge now or at least approach the brink.

©AnkitaS 2010

♥   ♥   ♥

💡

An acrostic poem, sometimes called a name poem is one that uses a word or phrase (usually the theme or the underlying subject matter of the poem) written vertically. Each letter of the word/phrase then acts as the beginning letter for a new line of the poem. Whatever is written using each letter must connect to the subject matter.

The first known acrostics date back to ancient times: the name “acrostic” was first used to describe the prophecies of the Erithraean Sibyl, which were written on leaves arranged so that the first letter on each leaf formed a word.

♥   ♥   ♥

8) Its fun writing an acrostic piece. Try it out yourself and enjoy 🙂 😀

28 thoughts on “TIME — An Acrostic poem

    1. yeah so true… we usually approach the brink of time.
      thank you for stopping by…

      your blog is good… keep versing.
      viva la vida 🙂

      Like

  1. Whoa!!! An acrostic WITH RHYMES!!! Awesome, Ankita!!
    You are brilliant!! Time too can never fade your charm.. 🙂

    Keep writing your terrific stuff, girlie…
    Much love..

    Like

  2. Nicely done! I first learned of acrostic poems when I read Haroun and the Sea of Stories by Salman Rushdie. It starts with an acrostic to his son. I just think they are cool!

    Like

  3. Brilliant work Ankita.. and I see you’ve taken up research as well 😉 I guess I can stop my research now and just wait for you to post something 😉 Don’t have time for blog like I used to, you know…!! Anyways awesome post on the whole..!!

    Like

    1. Thank you Ilakya, but please don’t you stop researching… You inspire me, please continue… your references are unique.. I means a lot… It inspires a lotta ppl like me to try different style of poetries.. 😉

      Like

  4. Brilliant Ankita.. I have come across such a poem for the first time. I used to think that acrostics are a tool for memorizing boring subjects. You have changed my thinking. Good one..

    Like

Leave a Reply

